A Thirty-Something Girl by L.M. Stull

I wrote a review on Amazon.com for my dear friend Lisa Stull who has released her first published book. I never read a book in a genre where a women finds normal tragedies that don’t happen to have demons chasing after teenagers, vampires sparkling or werewolves vs *insert supernatural being here*.

I do find this book very uplifting. I’ve never had to suffer a divorce and that’s what Hope Jackson has to go through. She holds it in so much that she contemplates killing herself. What’s life worth? I thought the same at some point in my life. I read on trying to find my connection with this young women fighting her 30th birthday on top of everything going wrong in her life. I’m close enough to 3o that I sympathize with her.

Hope finds herself staying at her close friends home looking out at the beach with crazy rich neighbors. She meets a handsome and sexy man while stand in front of her patio door wearing little to nothing. Tee hee!

But even as we see her trying to get back into normal life she has her doubts, fears and freezes up. That’s when I found my connection to her. Its the fear of opening yourself again after finding yourself hurt and betrayed. Finding that you, yourself haven’t given your honest to another person.

I adore this book, the friendships and horrible past. I accepted the way she pulled herself up through the depression and smelly breath. I cried with Hope during her time of loss and cheered her on when she met a man that made her stomach do flip flops.

All in all, a book I would have easily passed by this amazing Chick Lit in the bookstore, now has become a book I would gladly read again. My message to you is to never glance easily at a book. Pick it up and read what its worth.

A Thirty-Something Girl is a book about real struggles and passion. A book that anyone who has had to suffer during a hard time can come through stronger and wiser.

My love for strong women being written has grown fonder. Thank you L.M. Stull for a story that was breath taking, and well told.

A Thirty-Something Girl at Amazon.com

My review for the kindle version:

A Thirty-Something Girl, is beautifully written, with words that make you seem as if you are with the characters. Every word described makes you feel as if you are watching a movie instead of reading. The world is beautifully thought up; so realistic that it does take a moment to put down and do something else. I give A Thirty-Something Girl complete five stars. I love the character of Hope and her struggles with love and trying to get back into the world of ‘normalcy’. I myself find myself attached to her struggles as being hurt myself, so there is plenty of identifying with her. Not only are we given a glimpse of struggles but there is love there from her friends, which I’m sure all of us can relate to. Before the year ends, read this and fall in love, laugh and enjoy A Thirty-Something Girl by L.M. Stull.

7 thoughts on “A Thirty-Something Girl by L.M. Stull

  1. Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review! I’m glad Hope’s story spoke to you. As the emotional journey in the story was inspired by my own life, it warms my soul when I learn that I wasn’t alone in my journey, that other women feel (and have experienced) the same.

    Thank you again!

    ~L.M.

    • You are most welcome. I’m eager to read other writings you’ve got for us. I know you had a hard time and somehow hoped that it was going to pull you through in a positive way. So many people drowned in their negativity, never turning it around for themselves. It shows that you turned yourself around. I hope other women in this situation find big inspiration. So proud of you. Keep writing and sharing wonderful characters with us.

  2. Pingback: A Blog of Randomness «

    • Thank you darling Eden. That comment means a lot to me. I really do want to do book reviews. I have about five books now to read and review them. I really would like to be a book reviewer for self published books as well as the books I’ve been obsessing about that have gone through traditional publishing. Thank you again so so much. Your kindness has embraced me and I’m forever thankful for that.

  3. Hi, just required you to know I he added your site to my Google bookmarks due to your layout. But seriously, I believe your internet site has 1 in the freshest theme I??ve came across. It extremely helps make reading your blog significantly easier.

    • Thank you so much for this kind comment. I’m sorry it took me so long to approve this. It somehow got into my spam folder. I love this layout. I find it clean and simple and not overly cluttered. Again thank you.

Leave a Reply

