Oh My Nano!

Aftermath of Nanowrimo

I’m drained.

If you aren’t a writer and really don’t know what Nanowrimo is, I’ll tell you. Its when writers from any genre (I think) come together and write 50 thousand words in 30 days. Its intimidating to think about. Fifty thousand words is a lot. I’d rather have fifty thousand dollars, but the accomplishment feels great.

I’ve done Nano-for short- last year and finished with 65 thousand words. This year I barely made it. Its quite sad because this year I had outlined, had created plot points for the middle and end, nothing for the beginning. When it came down to Nano starting on November 1st, I became blank. I felt really stupid that these characters were waiting as much as I was to have a story written. Nothing came, it was like having a sea of crickets singing in your head. That bleck moment happened. I’m searching around my room looking for inspiration. My drug abusing neighbors weren’t any help either. I actually listened to them to see if that would help.

So with the second day arriving, I notice writers already had a word count. I had nothing! Something hit me, a small voice that wasn’t apart of the book I wanted to write so, Mine and Your Earth was born.

I started flying through this and I’m still not done. I only validated my word count for the site to be done with it. Something about Mine and Your Earth has just stuck with me. Its all I think about. I’ve never wrote or had a desire to write science fiction but this is mainly what it is. Its young adult science fiction. The only young adult, sci fi book I’ve ever read is Across the Universe by Beth Revis.

What’s Next?

I have no freking clue to be honest. I need 6 more chapters to write (I hope) then I’m waiting until February 2012 to even look at it.

What I do know is that I suggest anyone who is a writer during the Nano craze, to put this rushed book to the side and just breath. After I’m done writing I’m going to take December to dedicate to reading Libba Bray and Meg Cabot. Perhaps let my mind unwind and dive into a book that someone else possibly pulled their hair out during their time writing.

Any advice during Nano?

Yes! I freaking do. I will tell you what I’ve learned myself. Perhaps you can take this with you or just leave this here. SAVE YOUR WORK!!! I don’t know how many times a buddy has weeped about losing their work. The excuses amaze me. I’ve literally timed myself to save a file. It takes no more then 3 seconds depending on how fast your computer is. My Toshiba is pretty neat so It took less then 3 seconds to save. CTL+S=SAVE. I’ve had arguments with people who just wrote term papers for example, their kid comes typing away and they lose everything. CTL+Z is undo. It goes so far so try that. It takes one second unless you can’t see then it may take 5 seconds.

Open a FREE e-mail account for saving your work. Create a folder in your mail and send yourself your work. It’s amazing, free and it really works. USB’s are fantastic, my western digital holds a lot of my stuff but I don’t count on it. Its just a back up. BACK IT UP. I have two e-mails I save my work on, my western digital external, a small 1 gig usb and of course my computer. If I can think of anything else to back it up on I’ll do it.

When things get tough walk away from your work. I’ve cried this Nano because I thought I was a lousy writer. I was stuck for days until Mine and Your Earth just popped into my head while I as watching The Golden Girls. I’ve bitched on Twitter, complained on Facebook but the thing is I never gave up.

Don’t Give up

Its really worth it in the end. Even if its not for Nano. During your time keep writing even if its crap. I know Mine and Your Earth is filled with past tense while I was trying to write in the present tense. I know the plot holes make this look like swiss cheese. The idea is to keep your fingers moving and your brain working. A lot of the plot holes I filled were during sessions that I knew nothing was going to happen, I felt like I was in a different part of my head. Things just started to click. I got a background story for the most part. My MC was able to get through things and figure out the why her mother was murdered. She rambles a lot but that’s because I didn’t want her to be perfect. She may come across annoying but her thing is, she’s trying to find her own perfection. It doesn’t exist so I’m trying to allow her to figure this out.

To be continued…

Well that’s all for now. I’m a Nano winner for 2011. I can say I will not participate in 2012 this is too much of a headache. If I were jobless, could manage my time better with not wanting to sleep all the time because work is draining-woe is me! The distractions of wanting to play Assassins Creed: Revelations and day dreaming. I think I’ve had my fair share of pulling out my hair, glaring at my family to just shut up. Big thanks to everyone for being so kind to me during these last 30 days. You are truly amazing. You know who you are.

One More Thing!

My playlist: There are more songs I can’t type so I’ll give you the artists that I’ve listened to.

  • Jordin Sparks
  • JYJ
  • Tohoshinki
  • Christina Aguilera
  • Big Bang
  • MBLAQ
  • Teen Top
  • Maroon Five
  • T.M. Revolution
  • Bi Rain
  • Gackt
  • Mariah Carey
  • Boys II Men
  • B1A4
  • Jessie J
  • Boyfriend
  • Block B
  • Chris Crocker
  •  Jay’ed
  • AND Hanson
6 thoughts on “Oh My Nano!

  1. Great post, Nicole! Now I want a synopsis of the new book… sometimes being prepared for one thing means having to move on to another. I started a book for NaNo this year, was about 8,600 words in and had to stop. I wasn’t feeling it. And while I know I’ll write that book (and finish the series it begins) the darkness of it is for another time. Instead, I bumped up a fun steampunk series I had outlined and dove in head first. Good for you for recognizing you could still go on with another book!

    Proud of you and can’t wait to read it 🙂

    • Thank you so much Patti. You have been one of my biggest support system. More then my own family. I cannot wait for you to read it. I have high hopes for this. I plan to do a lot with this novel. Again thank you so much. It means a lot.

  2. Loved participating and I think I’ll do it next year as well, but you’re right! It was very stressful and I barely made it. Congrats on getting that winner badge and I’m looking forward to seeing it come out 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comment. Right now I’m not entirely certain I’ll do Nano 2012 but right now I’m totally against it. I think I would rather focus on what I’ve already written. I’m still trying to complete this novel I just have the 50k down.

  3. enjoyed reading your experience. you’ve inspired me to write mine. i’ve avoided it — you know, the writing — since, well . . . you know, the NaNo thing got my fingers all bunched into a knot and my brain devoid of words. But reading your experience is so great — people who endured it can really feel the pain and, I suspect, people who haven’t endured it can get a good picture of what you went through. Good post. Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m glad you found enjoyment in this post. I was hoping to reach out to someone if they needed any little pushing. I’m glad I am able to share my experience. Its always good to let others know my POV during this. I hope others had a bit more of a better nano then I did. Last year was amazing. Perhaps if I give Nano another shot in 2012 my opinion may change. But until then I’d like to focus on what I have already. Happy writing.

Leave a Reply

